We appreciate any amount that you can spare to help keep this unique internet radio station "on the air"!


From: London, England

This underrated London band originally formed in 1963 as the Boys, but then changed their name to the Action in 1965 when they were signed to EMI by Beatles producer George Martin. The group's original lineup included frontman Reg King (vocals), along with Alan "Bam" King (guitar, and no relation to Reg), Mike "Ace" Evans (bass), Roger Powell (drums) and Pete Watson (guitar), who issued a debut single ('Land Of One Thousand Dances' b/w 'In My Lonely Room') during the fall of '65. Watson left in 1966 and was eventually replaced by Martin Stone (guitar), who was previously with the Savoy Brown Blues Band and Stone's Masonry. Ian Whitman (piano) then joined the band in 1967 making them a 6-piece. They released a total of five singles between 1965 and 1967 on the Parlophone record label, with the awesome tracks 'Shadows And Reflections' and 'Something Has Hit Me' both appearing on their last 45.

Due to poor record sales and no hits, the group was dropped by EMI in 1967, but continued working on an LP project into 1968. Throughout this very creative period, they recorded 16 incredible demo tracks at Polydor and Advision studios, one being 'In My Dreams' that was arranged by George Martin himself. This outstanding demo LP was eventually released as Rolled Gold in 1998, most of which is proudly played in regular rotation on TWOS.

In mid 1968, Reg King left the fold to start a solo career, but the Action forged on and continued to record more demos, including 'A Saying For Today' in late 1968 with Whitman and Alan King taking over on lead vocals. During this period, they changed their name briefly to Azoth and shifted their sound towards a more mid-tempo, West Coast U.S. influenced heavier psychedelic style. In 1969, they changed their moniker to Mighty Baby and issued two LPs before finally breaking up in 1971.

Artist information sources include: The book, 'Tapestry of Delights Revisited' by Vernon Joynson.

Artist Compilations

Keep On Holding On: The Complete Parlophone Recordings

Buy from Amazon.com

Songs from this album played on TWOS:

  • Shadows And Reflections

    (Original 45 Label: Parlophone R 5610, A - June, 1967)

  • Something Has Hit Me

    (Original 45 Label: Parlophone R 5610, B - June, 1967)

Original Mighty Baby Album Plus 5 Additional Tracks By The Action

Buy from Amazon.com

The Action evolved into Mighty Baby in early 1969. This CD includes some late Action tracks just before the name change.

Songs from this album played on TWOS:

  • A Saying For Today

    (Originally Unreleased Demo - 1968)

Rolled Gold

Buy from Amazon.com

This CD, first issued as 'Rolled Gold' in 1998, includes tracks from the Action's originally unreleased and unnamed LP project, recorded from late 1967 into 1968.

Songs from this album played on TWOS:

  • Brain
  • Climbing Up The Wall (See Me)
  • Come Around
  • Follow Me
  • I'm A Stranger
  • Icarus
  • In My Dream
  • Little Boy
  • Love Is All
  • Really Doesn't Matter
  • Strange Roads
  • Things You Cannot See

General Compilations

Nuggets II: Original Artyfacts From The British Empire And Beyond

Buy from Amazon.com

This compilation CD contains the following songs by this artist that are played on TWOS:
- Shadows And Reflections